Phony Affair

You know I have become one of those obnoxious people whose nose is always buried in her phone. Sometimes I feel my fingers are glued to it. So much so that even if I am watching tv (which is on a very rare occasion) that I still need the phone going. Of course I can replace the phone with my iPad or my laptop on the event my phone is out of charge. I often wonder is it the internet that I need at my disposal constantly or is it an affair I seem to be having with my phone ??

Hubby often asks what do I do with my phone constantly…Well it would be easier to say what I don’t do. From setting up the wake up alarm to setting reminders to pay the bills to making lists of what to buy to Facebook to blog hopping to checking the weather to news to playing candy crush saga and all the subsequent sagas that they have come up with. And how can I forget whatsapp !!! So pretty much from the first thing in the morning to the last thing at night, it is my loyal companion.

I often feel I’am becoming a slave of these gadgets. But the sad truth is I have become one of those people whom I so abhorred 😦 . Luckily I still have some sanity in me that I don’t fidget with my beloved phone while having a conversation with someone. Conversations with hubby doesn’t count does it 😀 . I’am still not one of those Fb freaks who have to give status updates of every moment of their lives. So that way I’am spared.

But one thing even my phone can’t replace is the joy of holding a book. No matter how tech savvy I get, leafing the pages of a book has it’s own joy. The musty smell of an old book or the new smell of a fresh print is something that pretty much is unbeatable. So I think I still have some hope in myself.

These days I don’t read as much as I would like to and I really would like to be ‘that lady with a book’ rather than ‘that lady with her phone’. So hopefully I’ll give myself a break and take it easy. Will try to read more and browse less. Let’s see how it goes…..

2 thoughts on “Phony Affair

Leave a Reply

