Living Our Dream

We have been living our dream for the last three weeks and lets just say living it is way better than dreaming it. The hubby and I have for what seems forever wanted to live in our own home and not in a rented one. A place where we would grow into and make it a home. Few years back when we still had big dreams of moving back to India, the first thing that we did was to buy a duplex apartment in one of our favorite locations in Calcutta ( I still have trouble saying Kolkata ). Our hearts lay in buying a house but the location that we had in mind was simply untouchable when it came to buying a house. So having a duplex in one of the choicest apartment communities sure made us feel good. Soon we loaded our laptops with home designing softwares. But as luck would have it, we never really moved back. So never stayed there barring a couple of nights during our last visit to India. So as of today the home sits empty ready to be sold.

So when we signed the contract to build our home here, I was literally scared to be excited in the fear of jinxing it. I had this weird feeling, that something would go wrong or we would have to move to some other place. Anyway once we moved here, the feeling was inexplicable. Waking up to the sound of birds and being greeted by the green hills each morning when I open the blinds is an amazing way to start my day. Seeing the sun, set in the faraway hills is another sight that I will never get tired of. Daughter running around the yard and chasing the rabbits, her hair flying in the wind and her gleeful laughter echoing in my ears are sounds that always make me smile. The friendly neighbors who welcomed us in the community. Trust me this place feels like heaven to me. I have forever longed for a home and to have this as our very first home, I couldn’t be happier.

Talking about Daughter, she is having a blast ever since we moved here. This is a very kid friendly neighborhood and you would be surprised at the number of girls between the ages of 4-11. So every evening I have kids pouring in my house ringing the bell asking if my Daughter can play. They have loads of fun playing indoor or outdoor depending upon the weather. But luckily we have been blessed to have some beautiful days lately.

As for the hubby and me, we have been busy. Yep we have been exhausted trying to unpack and get everything in their rightful place. Trying to squeeze in time to clean the old apartment as much as possible was also not an easy job. But thankfully that’s done and we have handed over the keys. The last few days we have slept the moment our heads touched the pillows. But slowly and steadily things are falling in place and we are getting back in routine. Inspite of all the tiredness and the backaches, there has been an immense sense of satisfaction. All our travel souvenirs and the endless knick-knacks are finally seeing the light of day. Still there is a lot to do and I’am sure it’s going to take a while. There are walls to be painted, endless things to buy, pictures to be hung but we are in no rush. We’ll take it slow and easy.

From this weekend on starts the saga of housewarming parties. Now that everything is more or less unpacked, we have decided to formally invite friends over. All my weekends will be packed with entertaining guests. Some local and some out of state. It’s such an awesome feeling to do the things that we have been dreaming for so long.

That’s all that has been going on at my end. Hope you guys are well and enjoying the festive season. Happy Dushera to all of you !!

4 thoughts on “Living Our Dream

  1. Congratulations ! I can feel the your excitement through this post. I m smiling with you. Initial days will be crazy and bust but I am sure you will feel the contentment of being in your own home. That gives lot of happiness. I know you don’t usually post lot of pics on your but would love to see some of your home pics.

Leave a Reply

