Day 25 – Highlights of a quiet home…..

It seems last Friday saw it all. Extreme highs and rock-bottom lows. It’s sometimes a wonder how in a day we see it all. The day started beautifully and it went along so good almost till the end. All hell broke loose when we were coming back from a friend’s place. I don’t want to get in the gory details. Suffice it to say it’s still giving me chills but we are all fine and that’s what matters.

Anyway this weekend was a quiet one. Not the perfect peaceful quietness though. But Daughter sensing our mood has been such an angel. She blames the snow for everything and tells us stuff like ‘it’s fine’, ‘don’t worry’ and endless such stuff to make us feel better. But on this rare occasion nothing seems to work. Looking at that innocent face trying to make us feel better when it’s us who should be protecting her, sends me on endless guilt trips. Even though I know I did everything I could but the sad truth is I failed !!! And failure leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. I have been an emotional wreck the last two days.

In the breakfast table, when I heard Daughter say she hates snow, I knew I had to stop wallowing in self pity. Because while there can be a scary side of snow there is also a beautiful side. I didn’t want her to hate snow due to a little scary incident and miss the fun parts. So after we were done with breakfast, I sent her out in the yard to play with snow. Something that she absolutely loves. In no time the fear vanished and much to my relief I found her making a snowman. Later the hubby went and joined her and soon I could hear laughter and the missing life in our household returned. She came back with sparkly eyes and a happy face.

In the evening while I was struggling to come up with a post for today, she came up with the idea of writing a post for me. I was very happy with her idea. Since she was having her banana at the time, she decided to tell me. And once again surprised me by making a little rhyme. I quickly wrote it in the fear she might forget in a few minutes. Needless to say, the hubby and I smiled after what felt like ages.

2015/01/img_1692.pngThe little rhyme by darling Daughter !!

2015/01/img_1693-0.png Smiling with her pretty snow-woman!!!

8 thoughts on “Day 25 – Highlights of a quiet home…..

  1. Love the poem and the snowman. Dude, I am paranoid about even living in NJ and driving in snow. Saw my cousin ‘s situation last week and even slopey driveways with ice freak me out. The husbadoo also hates driving, keeps saying we need to live in some city without cars. This thing scares me so much, I am like lets go to the south and not the north east, but of course, we can’t choose much. Depends on careers and such. Also bad things can happen irrespective of snow and suchlike.Just have to live and face our fears. But the last pic made me smile and realize that snow is beautiful and fun!

    1. If you’ve been to Pittsburgh area you’ll know how hilly this terrain is and snowy, slippery condutions just makes it worse !! But as long as you are in the warmth of your home, it does make a pretty picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

