Random Rambles !!!

It’s been a week since I posted something here. While that’s nothing new for me but this year I want it to be different. Sometimes I wonder how can an idea or thought strike every day when doing a blogathon but after that everything comes to a sudden stop.

The last few days I have been lazy. Very very lazy !!! Weekend I cooked up a storm and thus all I needed to do was reheat and serve. The house was also spotless and clean after my back-breaking cleaning spree. So all I did was drink coffee and watch tv. Of course I also snacked a lot which is so not good. But today it seems, all my un-burnt energy is making me climb the walls. I have had enough of being lazy. It’s really chewing me up !!!

Ever since Daughter has started school, my free time has increased by leaps and bounds. Initially I was kind of enjoying my me time with books, trip to the library, shopping and in general being a typical stay-at-home-mom. But not so much any more. For me, I need to do something otherwise it starts bothering me. I’am typically not a very tv person. So I’am pretty much left to my own device. I think it’s time I start focussing on what I want to do with my time. Like they say an idle mind is a devil’s workshop and this devil has been pretty busy messing with my head and driving me up the wall.

But the problem is I live at a typical suburban town, the job opportunities aren’t that great here especially for someone who has been out of the loop. While I’ve been trying to keep my eyes and ears open, but I really haven’t seen anything I like. I’am also thinking in the lines of getting back to school and studying but I’am having a hard time trying to decide what I really want to do. Too many things are going on in my mind. The hubby tells me to just start from somewhere and not stress over it. Maybe he is right but Stress is my middle name (or it should be).

To all those who are debating about leaving their jobs for kids really should think over it. While I don’t regret the time that I spent with my Daughter, the fact is now my birdie has left the nest and I feel so lost. I don’t want to be just waiting for her, chauffeuring her to different activities and pretty much having my life revolve around hers. I want to do something productive, something that will fill my time. I want to do something for me. Am I sounding very selfish ?? I guess so !!!

Hopefully I will sort things out soon or will make peace with the situation. Honestly I don’t have much hope on the job front in our current location. And with the hubby who is currently considering a more travel oriented role, I’am not sure if I’am left with much option. So till then, make the best of any situation has always been my mantra of life and that’s what I’ll continue to do.

3 thoughts on “Random Rambles !!!

  1. Hugs MTW. I can totally understand you. And no.. You are not thinking selfish. One should be entitled to these thoughts. You were there for your daughter all this time and I know you are an awesome mother. Thinking of having some me-time is not wrong at all. All the best to you, think of how you can use the idle time.

  2. These are not selfish thoughts at all. Very practical. I was so happy to read the going back to school and studying bit. Very few women I know in real life think this way and instead complain about unfair visa laws, unsupportive husbands, mean in-laws etc etc. Take your time picking what area you want to pursue and I do hope it all works out and you do the needful to start. Also think its good that you are thinking this way now and are prepared to make some changes instead of waiting till daughter is much older and off to college when it will really be hard to get back into the workforce.

Leave a Reply

