Summer Vacation #1 – Making Memories

We are already into the 3rd week of summer break. And after the initial ‘I miss school’/’I’am bored’/’Staying home is not fun’, I think we have settled quite comfortably and dare I say we are enjoying waking up late, playing outside, having numerous play dates and pretty much all the things that mommy is allowing me to do. Yes once again I’am favoring the unstructured playtime with a little supervision from me and some of the neighborhood moms. So no all day camps for us. Except for our regular gymnastics class and swimming class, I have left her to her own device. We do our mandatory math and language art notebook for one hour. That’s all the time that I demand from her busy schedule.
This year, I’am giving a lot of effort in making memories. For me ‘summer vacation’ was synonymous with fun, cousins, get together at the grand parents, ripe succulent mangoes, nibbling on red juicy watermelon wedges and the like. I’am sure all of us who grew up in the 90’s can identify with me no matter which part of India you come from. And I’am sure our parents didn’t give much thought about making memories. But these days we or at least the husband and I need to consciously put in some thought to build some special memories. With all the geographical boundaries and everyone scattered around the globe, making memories with your closest of kin can cost you a lot 😀 . So we have started our own traditions with the Daughter. 
Like on the last day of school, they had early dismissal at 10:50. Hubby took the day off and we took her out to lunch at her favorite restaurant. She was very happy and then from lunch we went to watch the movie Home. We really had a lovely time and have decided to definitely make this a tradition. It was a wonderful way to start the long summer break and welcome all the fun things that lay ahead of us.
While I know that Daughter’s life is very different from our lives back then, and I for one am not the person who advocates ‘those were the best days’ still don’t want her memories to be trapped only in Dora/Disney vacations/iPad and such. I want her to play outside and get her feet muddy. Have a tea party with friends where they are the princesses rather than attend a princess themed party. Laugh and dance in the rain. Be happy with life’s simple pleasures. 
With the weather being hot and sweaty the last couple of days, dancing in the rain has become a family favorite. Yes we have been getting soaking wet a lot of times, in the last week and trust me the rain melts away all your stresses and relaxes you like nothing else. Atleast  it works wonders for me 🙂 .
I hope these little things help me in making memories for my precious one and someday make her smile.
3 thoughts on “Summer Vacation #1 – Making Memories

  1. Thats so nice MTW 🙂 You are right, our parents didnt put much of a thought on creating best memories for us. We just grew up doing what we enjoyed. But then, we really do have our share of best memories dont we?! 🙂 With this new techno age, one needs to make an effort without being pulled in one gadget or the other. I am so glad your daughter is enjoying and making her best summer memories 🙂

  2. Oh so true.. the rain melts away all your stress and relaxes you.. Absolutely.
    People though seem so fed up of the Mumbai rain.. I dont think they’ll relate to those sentiments..

    Summer vacations.. Sigh… WHy don’t adults have them? It’s not fair.

Leave a Reply

