The Lovely Kulhads – Day 74

{A kulhar (Hindustani: कुल्हड़ or کلہڑ) or kulhad, sometimes called a shikora, is a traditional handle-less terracotta cup from North India and Pakistan that is typically unpainted and unglazed, and meant to be disposable.[1] Since kulhars are made by firing in a kiln and are almost never reused, they are inherently sterile and hygienic.[2] Bazaars and food stalls in the Indian subcontinent traditionally served hot beverages, such as tea, in kuhlars, which suffused the beverage with an “earthy aroma” that was often considered appealing.[3] Yogurt, hot milk with sugar as well as some regional desserts, such as kulfi (traditional ice-cream), are also served in kulhars.[4] } – courtesy wiki 

On my last visit to India, I was really fascinated with these beautiful ceramic kulhads. I used to love drinking tea from the earthen kulhads in the earlier days. Now in my absence from the day to day life in India, I didn’t realize that these unassuming earthen kulhads typically found in the roadside tea stalls have been revamped.

We were served tea in some of the most fanciest kulhads while visiting relatives. Now if you know me, I hardly shop during my vacations in India. I have enough of my fair share of malls and retail therapy here, so I do not venture to the malls unless I absolutely must. But I had not spotted these kulhads on the rare occasions that I did visit the mall. 

With people eager to gift us stuff I didn’t feel like asking them either from where they had bought theirs. And while I liked some of their kulhads, I wanted traditional designs for mine. Actually I wanted the typical brick red kulhads that I was used to.

So one day, the hubby and I were on one of our rare shopping trips and I spotted these beautiful kulhads. They had the typical brick red ones and some with traditional designs. We loved them. I quickly picked up 8 of them. 4 red ones that I loved and 4 that the hubby and I both liked. 

But as luck would have it, on unpacking I found that my much treasured red kulhads were broken to pieces. While a couple from the different set was chipped but not broken. I wanted to cry looking at those irreparable red pieces. Anyway I plan to get the red ones again on my next trip. But till then I’m in love with these.

Blogathon 2017 #Day30

2 thoughts on “The Lovely Kulhads – Day 74

Leave a Reply

