Just a little change- Day 90

It’s definitely a good feeling when you are able to keep your emotions in check. Of course when I was actually trying to bite my tongue and do a mental countdown to keep my anger/frustrations at bay, I didn’t feel the goodness. Now that I look back on the events of morning I want to pat my back. Sometimes it’s best to let it slide and ignore. Sometimes we need to look at the bigger picture and let it pass. Sometimes it’s so not worth it. And of course sometimes we just need to realize from whom it’s coming from and whether they deserve a little more understanding from us.

While I’m not advocating taking shit from anybody/everybody but it’s alright if we can keep our mouths shut sometimes especially if it’s no big deal. Atleast that’s definitely what I’m working on for my sanity. For me if I open my mouth I’m not able to choose my words and that often leads to hurt feelings and my overreacting and saying things that I don’t mean. Of course when I look back I get into this guilt space and often find I excuse the other person (even if he/she deserved my wrath) and blame myself for the argument. And all because I was the person yelling and not thinking before speaking. That as we all know isn’t very pleasant.

So today as I sit thinking about my morning I’m impressed at how I handled somethings. I let my patience win over my normal impatient self. For once I tried to let a remark pass just because I didn’t care. I no longer need to prove anything to anyone. I no longer need to win every argument to prove my point. Sometimes silence wins over bigger battles. And I definitely love this little change in me. Maybe as they say I’m mellowing down with age.

3 thoughts on “Just a little change- Day 90

  1. Are we soul sisters are what? I have been going through the exact same change myself and have been thinking about this a lot and practicing too.. I see that it helps to keep me sane and calm the mind. Another one I am trying to practice is to keep my Deville low and speak only when I am sure to be heard..

Leave a Reply

